# Appoint City Representatives to the Governing Board of the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District

January 31, 2024



#### Air District Governing Board

- Pursuant to California Health & Safety Code Sec. 40600(c), the Valley Air District is governed by a 15 member board
  - 13 elected officials and 2 public members appointed by Governor
- Elected Officials
  - 8 County Supervisors
    - Selected by respective Boards of Supervisors
    - No pre-specified terms
  - 5 City Councilmembers
    - Appointed by Special City Selection Committee (59 Cities)
    - 3-year terms
    - Members are eligible to be appointed to more than one term
- Governor Appointees
  - One physician and one individual with medical or scientific expertise in health effects of air pollution
  - 4-year terms



### **Current City Representation on Governing Board**

- Three small city representatives
  - Councilmember Deborah Lewis, City of Los Banos (Northern Region)
    - Currently eligible for re-appointment (3-year Term)
  - Mayor Alvaro Preciado, City of Avenal (Central Region)
    - Serving second 3-year term
  - Councilmember Gilberto Reyna, City of Wasco (Southern Region)
    - Serving first 3-year term
- Two large city representatives
  - Councilmember Rosa Escutia-Braaton, City of Modesto (Northern Region)
    - Serving first 3-year term
  - Councilmember Drew Bessinger, City of Clovis (Central Region)
    - Second 3-year term expiring February 2024



# San Joaquin Valley Special City Selection Committee

- "The special city selection committee is hereby created to appoint city council members to the district board." (H&SC 40600.5)
- One member from each Valley city, 59 total members
- Majority of total membership constitutes quorum for holding meetings and taking action (30 affirmative votes needed for action)
- Committee meetings are subject to the Ralph M. Brown Act
- The District's air pollution control officer shall act as the special city selection committee's permanent secretary



#### **General Requirements for City Appointments**

- The process must be local, transparent and fair to all
- The process must conform to all statutory provisions
  - Two members from cities with a population of 100,000 or more, with each member selected from different regions of the District
  - Three members from cities with a population of less than 100,000, with one member from each the three regions of the District
  - There shall be no more than one city representative from each county within the District
- City populations determined based upon the State Department of Finance population estimates at the time appointment is being made
  - 6 cities qualify as Large Cities (Stockton, Modesto, Fresno, Clovis, Visalia, Bakersfield)
- Whenever possible, members will be appointed for a second term



#### **Nomination Process**

- Special City Selection Committee adopted policy to guide appointment process
  - Policy contains a dual path approach to solicit nominations for appointment consideration by the Committee
- First path:
  - Valley League of Cities chapters nominate an individual for appointment by the Committee
- Second path:
  - Valley League of Cities chapters direct the District to solicit nominations for appointment by the Committee
  - When appointing new member, the eligible cities selected shall rotate amongst the counties by District regions, from North to South



#### Nomination Process – Large City Vacancy

- League of Cities requested the District to coordinate the nomination process for the large city vacancy created by the second term expiration of Councilmember Drew Bessinger, City of Clovis
- Pursuant to the adopted appointment policies:
  - Next eligible large city is City of Visalia
  - District mailed application packets to eligible City Councilmembers
  - One application was received from Councilmember Elizabeth Wynn
  - District mailed ballots to the cities in Tulare County to vote on the candidate
- Based on the unanimous vote of the cities in Tulare County, the District is forwarding the nomination of Councilmember Elizabeth Wynn to this Committee for final consideration and action



#### **Tulare County City Votes**

- City of Dinuba Elizabeth Wynn
- City of Exeter Elizabeth Wynn
- City of Farmersville Elizabeth Wynn
- City of Lindsay Elizabeth Wynn
- City of Porterville Elizabeth Wynn
- City of Tulare Elizabeth Wynn
- City of Visalia Elizabeth Wynn
- City of Woodlake Elizabeth Wynn



# Today's Recommended Actions

- Based upon the adopted appointment policies of the Special City Selection Committee:
  - -Recommendation 1 (Item #4): Re-appoint Councilmember Deborah Lewis, City of Los Banos, to a second 3-year term
  - -Recommendation 2 (Item #5): Appoint Councilmember Elizabeth Wynn, City of Visalia, as a Large City Representative to a 3-year term

